background color on icons messed up

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ChaosTheory, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    i have windows xp, and a few weeks ago my computer became really screwed up with adware and other junk. when it first happened my background changed to a picture i had used a while back, and would occasionaly change to just a solid color. my background color for my icons where the text is also changed. it is whatever color i have selected under display->desktop->color. so now i cant figure out how to put it back to a transparent color so it doesnt look wierd. the other accounts on the computer werent affected and are still normal. i found one website that showed how to set it to transparent but what it told me to do was already done ie checking a certain box in some display options.. i also tried downloading winfx like the site recommended and i had the program put the color to be transparent and even after i applied it it still stayed the same color.

    does anyone know how to fix it. i would really appreciate it.
     
  2. Zak8022

    Zak8022 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    First things first... are you sure you have succesfully removed all adware/spyware/viruses that may be on your computer? It sounds to me like there's still something there not allowing you to fix your tranceparancy problem.
     
  3. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    i used adaware, and spybot, i also installed a virus protection/firewall and what not that we got from staples. and im pretty sure everything is removed now.
     
  4. monolith

    monolith The cats are brown now! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    36,842
    Likes Received:
    3,822
    Location:
    Southern California
    Check your drop shadows:

    Control Panel > System > Advanced Tab > Performance Settings > Click " Use drop shadows for icon labels on the desktop" and select Ok
     
  5. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    Just for shits and giggles, do a run with Kaspersky's online scanner.

    That's rule number one after AdAware/Spybot sweeps. Did you run HiJackThis by chance?
     

Share This Page