FIT Boxing and Weights....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Apocalypse

May 19, 2003
Bay Area, CA (49ers)
Hey everyone! so I've been lifting regularly for about 6+ months now and I just started boxing. Anyways I wanted to know would I be overworking my muscles if I lifted weights on the days I didn't have boxing?

The boxing sessions are an hour, but are very intense. My plan is to go MWF boxing then lift on TueTh and Sat. I was thinking maybe just lifting weights TueTh and taking weekends off. Dunno whats better.

Memor

Jun 22, 2006
NYC
1 upper 1 lower a week, go heavy, low volume, light to no accessory work

box more than 3 days a week

TS
TS
Apocalypse

Apocalypse

May 19, 2003
Bay Area, CA (49ers)
Well the place that I take boxing at has a full gym so i'm paying $50 a month for access to gym as well as boxing. Not bad. I am about to cancel my gym membership that I had before I signed up for boxing.

Hood Moses

Halogen boi
Oct 4, 2001
NC
Id do something simlar to this

workout 1

Bench Press or Board press variation 4 x 3-5

Wide Grip chin 4 x 6

Barbell or Dumbbell Curl 3 x 8

Skull Crushers 3 x 10

workout 2

Squat or box squat 4 x 5

Glute/Ham Raises or pullthroughs 3 x 10

Ab work 3 x 10

forearms 2 x 20-30

workout 3

Incline bench press or Shoulder Press 4 x 5

Rows 4 x 8

Tricep pushdowns 2 x 10

Preacher curl 2 x 10

Ab work 3 x 10

workout 4

Deadlift or rack deadlift 4 x 5

Single leg squat variation 2 x 10

Calf Raises 3 x 15

Forearms 2 x 20

CottonTowels

May 17, 2010
Canada
How I would do it is:

MWF boxing (like you had mentioned)

Tues & thurs work on speed strength (30-50% of your max) and the intention is to develop acceleration speed, tues for lower body and thurs for upper body. Once the desired acceleration speed is obtained focus on increasing the amount of force developed while maintaining acceleration