Building a Media Centre PC *need help*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dimo, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. dimo

    dimo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Is there an alternative to Windows XP Media Centre Edition? Im just having too much trouble getting all the codecs to work.

    thanks
     
  2. sholnay

    sholnay Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    62,435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington NZ || Dallas TX
    http://freevo.sourceforge.net/

    for linux - there is one for windows too but i dont remember the name and its expensive (or at least costs money).

    This guy set up a whole linux media center and explains everything it took to get it going:
    http://viz.aset.psu.edu/ga5in/MediaCenter.html
     
  3. majesty

    majesty OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Earth
    mythtv, its nix based
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: KnoppMyth is supposed to be excellent and fairly easy to set up.
     
  5. Conrad10781

    Conrad10781 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
  6. tony

    tony Guest

  7. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Not being able to set up simple codecs = :greddy:
     
  8. dimo

    dimo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    the codecs work and i can play all the files outside of MCE but when i get into MCE it gives an error.
     
  9. dimo

    dimo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    yeah im trying this at the moment and its looking really good so far, sure there are a few bugs but they are minor.

    Thanks to everyone
     

Share This Page