C++ question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SuperMan91, Apr 17, 2008.

1. SuperMan91

SuperMan91 New Member

Im new with C++ so i just started out with the traditional "Hello World" program but everytime i run it, it only shows up for like a tenth of a second then goes away. Heres the code for u to see if i messed up on someting or not.

//Hello world program

#include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

int main()
    {
    cout << "Hello World!/n";
    return 0;
    }

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

run your command prompt, THEN run the program.

3. SuperMan91

SuperMan91 New Member

Still does the same thing..... :wtc:

4. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

um, you be dumb, son.

5. bandit320

bandit320 New Member

lol
    I think you need to go start->run

type in cmd

then in the window that pops navigate to the directory where your .exe is located.

type the name of your exe and your program will run.

6. kd.snake

kd.snake New Member

Newline character is "\n" :)

7. CodeX

CodeX Guest

change it to this:

#include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

void main()
    {
    while(1) cout << "Hello World! << endl";
    }

but no seriously its because your program does nothing and then exits immediately... what did you expect to happen? You see that return 0? that ends the program... so you display "hello world" in the command prompt and then immediately with the next instruction exit it.

8. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

That wouldn't matter if he manually opened a DOS window first, so that it wouldn't automatically close as soon as the program is done running. It would stay open, displaying the output from the program until he closed the window himself.

- - -