ART car photo shoot ideas

themolsen

Sep 29, 2006
Jacksonville, FL
My g/f just got a nice G35 in a beautiful medium blue. She wants to go somewhere and get some photos of it and I was thinking somewhere at sunset might be nice for the blue/orange combo.

What kind of lighting or composition tips can you give me?

I've never done in car photos before, but have seen many and read about some techniques.

I was thinking about doing that shoot right after the sun is below the horizon so the sky is orange but the ambient light is pretty low. Then do a long enough shutter speed that I can light paint most of the car with a flash.

But really, I'm not sure. There will be lots of experimenting. Any tips so I don't waste TOO much time?

aCab

Jun 1, 2007
Chicaaago
Posing is important, as is composition and location.

Make sure the car is clean.

If you shoot after the sun has gone down and you are using a flash to paint the car, make sure you do it evenly.

TS
TS
themolsen

themolsen

Sep 29, 2006
Jacksonville, FL
what kind of positioning do you recommend? angled with wheels turned a bit to show rims? and what about camera height?

cool shots, btw, regrets

aCab

Jun 1, 2007
Chicaaago
not the best, but this if my fav:

2958110909_85329ea6db_o.jpg

BumbleBeeTuna

excuse me, your balls are showing
OT Supporter
Oct 13, 2002
CA
what kind of positioning do you recommend? angled with wheels turned a bit to show rims? and what about camera height?

cool shots, btw, regrets
for the usual, typical is 3/4 with the wheels turned so that you can see the face of the wheels. Be SURE to either have the wheels straight or turned the correct way. Shooting from up high makes the car seem lower, shooting from way down low (lying on the ground) can make for some interesting angles as well. Do you have a CPL?

mrtwo

Jul 19, 2005
わいは
heres another, friends shot .. like acabs angle,

n6709429_35600627_1686.jpg