OT Supporter
Dec 12, 2007
Southern California
@stevezissou
@MrBonus
@turbo35
@Sal Paradise
@Simple

i'm a cpa but have never got into the tax side of the profession, i've done some 1099 work for tax cpa's doing tax prep but that's as far as i've gone. looking to get into taxes a lot more now. any suggestions of a good cpe or a good class that I can really start to master the rules and taxes that I will need to get into this?

tyia

StuDLei

Death before Dishonor
Jul 21, 2001
Omaha, NE
Tax CPA here. I can't imagine switching if you've been in the career long. Kudos to you, but I would expect a pretty hefty salary decrease if that's the case, no?

Tax is a shitshow. Honestly, I like the work, but the tax code has become so stupidly complex that it's nearly impossible to be efficient and get client work done for a reasonable cost. The mousetrap is now gigantic. I'm only a 5 year guy, not a partner by any stretch, so others can probably shed more light. But that's my take. It got pretty stupid in 2018, and really stupid with Covid.

GL

stevezissou

OT Supporter
Jul 15, 2009
US
@stevezissou
@MrBonus
@turbo35
@Sal Paradise
@Simple

i'm a cpa but have never got into the tax side of the profession, i've done some 1099 work for tax cpa's doing tax prep but that's as far as i've gone. looking to get into taxes a lot more now. any suggestions of a good cpe or a good class that I can really start to master the rules and taxes that I will need to get into this?

tyia
What side of the profession are you in now? Audit or internal?

stevezissou

OT Supporter
Jul 15, 2009
US
I just do reviews rn
A lot of bookkeeping work also (that is done in India and reviewed by me)
You are familiar with double entry accounting so that is good.

I think it would be easier to start with C-Corps and then into s-corps and partnerships.

All three of those are double entry and have balance sheets that tie to the return and match the income statement and either retained earnings/capital accounts.