does having jumbo frames enabled show noticable throughput improvements?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude with an ileostomy bag OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    23,302
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    transferring files between my macbook and desktop. both as capable machines and connected with a gigabit switch. when i turn on jumbo frames, i don't see any improvement.

    so, i'm guessing the following is happening:
    -my switch does not support jumbo frames
    -samba tops out around 25MBPS
    right?
     
  2. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,414
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New England
    the gigabit switch should support jumbo frames.

    the ethernet card in either the macbook or desktop may not support jumbo frames.

    even if you enabled it on all 3 (switch, mac, pc) you probably still might not see much, if any, improvement.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude with an ileostomy bag OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    23,302
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    macbook and desktop support jumbo frames. turned it on

    i guess i'd have to use a different protocol for better throughput
     
  4. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Teleca Q7; Brew 3.1.5; U; en) 480X800 LGE VX11000)

    Every single time I've built a new computer it's not transferred at full speed until 3 or 4 new BIOS-Drivers updates. I'd bet it's the PC unless you have a really cheap router/switch.
     
  5. Supernaut

    Supernaut Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try a "ping -l 8000 -f x.x.x.x" from the desktop to your MBP, that will tell you whether you are passing jumbo frames intact. If that fails, either the switch is not jumbo-frame capable or enabled, or the NICs are not configured with matching MTUs.

    You can repeat the test from the MBP to the desktop with "ping -D -s 8000 x.x.x.x"

    You might want to modify the value from 8000 to whatever MTU you are using, most commonly 9000.
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude with an ileostomy bag OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    23,302
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    the mac gave me "message too long"

    my xp machine worked at passed through 9000MTU packets. i did not see an increase in throughput though. still around 25MBPS. oh well, not big deal
     

Share This Page