TECH Good Host?

Fase

Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.
Apr 6, 2004
Windsor, Ont, Canada.
I'm sure this has been asked a million times but...

I'm looking to register a domain. I also need basic hosting with MySQL, PHP support, and a few email addresses with the domain, and file (image) uploading. URL rewriting (mod_rewrite) would be nice as well.

I have tried GoDady in the past, I hate their website and management layout but whatever they were ok. I have a site with NetworkSolutions but they're expensive and I don't like how they steal domain names when you search for them through them.

Should I try HostGater? Or stick with GoDaddy? Any recommendations?

Pepsi1975

Mod of the Year
Jan 6, 2005
Detroit
do not stick with godaddy

I have been using hostgator for the past 3 years and they are good

also I have have hosting with bounceweb and they are great too and can't beat their pricing, an oter owns them

TS
TS
Fase

Fase

Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.
Apr 6, 2004
Windsor, Ont, Canada.
do not stick with godaddy

I have been using hostgator for the past 3 years and they are good

also I have have hosting with bounceweb and they are great too and can't beat their pricing, an oter owns them

HostGator appears to be a lot cheaper. ~$66 vs ~$92 for a year.

Major Tom

Mar 10, 2003
England
hostgator is fine, although my site was down for 2 hours today. First problem I've ever had, though (Been with with a year).

Browning

Most Adblocked AV Ever
Feb 14, 2005
I love 1and1 and have NEVER had a problem.

Been with them for 6 years
simpsons-haha.jpg1.gif

blinger

Haven't had any issues with BounceWeb and Ive heard its ran by an otter?

they're not bad. I had a few initial issues with them and ended up getting a refund. I picked up a VPS from knownhost.com for 45/month after an OTer recommended them.

White Stormy

Take that, subspace!
Sep 17, 2002
Sparkopolis
Haven't had any issues with BounceWeb and Ive heard its ran by an otter?