how do i change my onboard video card memory

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kokomo, May 9, 2007.

  1. Kokomo

    Kokomo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    39,600
    Likes Received:
    109
    to put out the highest setting
    i think its like running at 128 but i want to set it at 256?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's a bios setting.
     
  3. Kokomo

    Kokomo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    39,600
    Likes Received:
    109
    i tried that but cannot change it pass 64 megabytes wtf
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    vram is not your limitation. You will not improve performance by increasing vram with an onboard implementation. the bottleneck is elsewhere.
     
  5. Kokomo

    Kokomo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    39,600
    Likes Received:
    109
    what can u explain that in retards term please ?:hs:
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you bought a shitty computer. this will not help you. that retard-terms enough?
     
  7. Kokomo

    Kokomo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    39,600
    Likes Received:
    109
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    How much ram do you have?

    What's the motherboard?
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    To put it slightly less retardedly, the graphics processors used for onboard video don't run fast enough to really do anything that can make use of a lot of memory anyway. You sure as hell can't play Unreal Tournament using onboard graphics, unless you're a fan of slide shows.
     
  10. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    54,086
    Likes Received:
    896
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Hopefully you have a PCIe, AGP, or even PCI slot for a new video card. As bad as onboard video usually is, even a $100 PCI card will smoke it.
     
  11. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Isn't that sentence ironic?
     
  12. AustinL911

    AustinL911 Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus
    Is there any kind of booster card or something along those lines that you can plug into a laptop computer? Like an external vid card or something?
     
  13. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    54,086
    Likes Received:
    896
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    None that I know of. An external video card (if it existed) would be even slower because there's no external bus fast enough.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd think they'd make one, but then laptop makers would lose a huge reason to have people buy new units (at high cost) every couple of years.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they DO make them. I have seen USB video adaptors. But they fucking suck, and it's 2D only. Forget hardware acceleration.
     

Share This Page