ART I have to take our company picture on Tuesday

Creator

The Creator Has a Master Plan
Sep 27, 2001
Here
I've never done a group shot before. 15 or so people. Don't have a location yet since there isn't really anyplace in our office to do it. No idea what its for since there's never been one taken. It's a new media company and I think bossman will be there.

Anyone have tips for something like this? I'll bring my collection of strobes, umbrellas and my softbox but fuck. How should I line people up? By height? Boss is really tall, second in command is 5'5 or so.

Easy solution is just tripod and use natural light and have an ok picture but id rather not go that route.

turbodude

Just a photographer
OT Supporter
Jun 17, 2002
Las Vegas
what equipment do you have?

If you use an outside location you should be ok as you will be using your strobes for a good amoutn of fill. But make sure you stack the people up where you they will not cast shadows onto each other.

alexromo

Jul 10, 2005
Wahiawa
shoot out front of the company

how much is your boss paying you for doing this? just letting you clock in for those hours or something?

jared_IRL

OT Supporter
Feb 12, 2006
you'll be fine.

2 rows, tall in back - short in front

set an umbrella up on each side, about 45 degrees from axis.

shoot through the umbrellas. Shoot with their backs to the sun, and use the sunlight as the hair/accent light, and shoot with whatever iso/flash power/shutterspeed you need in order to keep the ambient.

It'll take you a couple minutes to get everything perfect, so you should definitely get some details on when and where, and practice tomorrow.

Jcolman

OT Supporter
Aug 19, 2002
dirty souf
Find the best background and figure out the best time of day to shoot (if you have that option). Shoot from a ladder. You want to be higher than the tallest person. Stagger the group in a V formation. Use your strobes for fill.

Tedrzz

Jul 6, 2005
Brooklyn, NY