GUN I'm thinking about enlisting in the Army

Kittah Pantz

Dec 14, 2008
Baltimore
I'm curious to know a few things before I give my info up to a recruiter.
I've heard that you can start out ranked higher if you have college credits or a degree. I have an AA degree, so what would I start as?

ggr12

OT Supporter
Aug 31, 2003
NoCo
if you can't read through that page and find the information you seek then don't bother. It's within the first 20 topics :ugh:

TS
TS
Kittah Pantz

Kittah Pantz

Dec 14, 2008
Baltimore
Some of the information contradicts itself. One page says you can become an E-4 if I have over 30 credits, another says I need a Bachelors degree. This is exactly why I'm asking on here not looking at these pages.

Ninja

OT Supporter
Oct 15, 2002
UK
I'm curious to know a few things before I give my info up to a recruiter.
I've heard that you can start out ranked higher if you have college credits or a degree. I have an AA degree, so what would I start as?

Finish getting your bachelors degree then go OCS and become an officer.

TS
TS
Kittah Pantz

Kittah Pantz

Dec 14, 2008
Baltimore
Finish getting your bachelors degree then go OCS and become an officer.
Because my degree was specialized in veterinary technology I basically have to start all over to get a bachelors. I want to do 68T as my MOS.

i would recommend this depending on what he/she wants out of the military
there are some things you cant get as an officer or it comes much later on and most of the time watered down
I really don't want to be a Veterinarian as the Army

over 30 credits you'll come in as E2, over i think 60 you'll come in as E3.
Yeah I have 70 or 72, I don't remember.

shiba

Feb 10, 2006
Do you need a bachelors to go OCS? I thought you can get in with an associates. And once you hit O-3 you get a chance to finish up your bachelors.