CAR intake manifold bolts leaking oil

uofapeter

Apr 23, 2004
My intake manifold bolts are leaking oil. Its a 327 block with a TM-1 intake. the old bolts are mismatching and half of them don't even have washers on them. Any recommendations on bolts?

deusexaethera

OT Supporter
Jan 27, 2005
The bolts are leaking oil? You mean the bolt holes actually punch through the inside wall of the block? Wow.

TS
TS
uofapeter

uofapeter

Apr 23, 2004
:eek3: I used 4 inch wood bolts from home depot. Is that wrong?

Oil is leaking out of the bolt holes. Maybe its seeping through from a bad gasket or something but I'm 100% sure that is where it is coming from. I'm new to this shit. Help me out if you have any idea.

deusexaethera

OT Supporter
Jan 27, 2005
Well, you definitely shouldn't be using wood bolts, they have the wrong kind of threads; if you can't get OEM bolts, at least use machine bolts designed for metal-to-metal contact. Also, if you can't get the bolts in without a wrench, the thread size is wrong. You should be able to hand-tighten them all the way until they bottom-out, and then use a wrench to torque them.

The first thing I'd do is take the manifold off again and check the bolt holes to see if there's any damage inside them, and whether they actually go through into the inside of the block. If the bolt holes are blind (i.e. they don't go all the way through the metal), then spray them out with throttle cleaner to remove the remaining oil and then figure out where the oil is really coming from. (Valve cover gaskets sound pretty likely in this case.) If the bolt holes do go all the way through the metal, then there must be some kind of sealant or washer you're supposed to use to keep oil from seeping past the bolt threads.

liberals=whiner

listen bro, you need to pm me and bring that chevelle over to the house, Ill straighten that shit out for you

retorq

What up bitch??
Dec 14, 2006
Mohave Desert