TECH Linux and Science

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaptainChemical

Jan 25, 2005
Cleveland, Oh
I'm a grad. student in polymer engineering with my research all in organic synthesis. I want to switch to Linux but it seems all the good chemistry software is for windows like ChemDraw and NMR processing. So what's your thoughts on Linux and Science?

CodeX

Linux is for poor college students and people who go out of their way to seperate themselves from others.

The ONLY thing that it has on windows is that its free...

Peyomp

Jan 11, 2002
I'm a grad. student in polymer engineering with my research all in organic synthesis. I want to switch to Linux but it seems all the good chemistry software is for windows like ChemDraw and NMR processing. So what's your thoughts on Linux and Science?

Linux is used in crunching numbers for science (where it is the dominant platform), more than it is used for desktop applications.

CyberBullets

I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c
Nov 13, 2001
BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
Linux is used in crunching numbers for science (where it is the dominant platform), more than it is used for desktop applications.

:werd: I have a buddy at University of Sask who's doing his physics PhD. All their grad students, doctoral students, profs and labs use linux. For what software, I have no idea, but no one runs windows (few run OSX).

CodeX

Gee, I guess you are right... I mean a publicly funded university would have NO interest in cutting costs by using a free OS... I must be mistaken, linux is king.

And I wasn't refering to supercomputers I was talking about personal computers running user applications... AS PER THE OP's ORIGINAL QUESTION.

Peyomp

Jan 11, 2002
Gee, I guess you are right... I mean a publicly funded university would have NO interest in cutting costs by using a free OS... I must be mistaken, linux is king.