Looking to build a computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by charger90, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. charger90

    charger90 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28,780
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    San Diego
    I wanna build a new cheap "meaning not expensive" computer cause the one in my room isnt even powerful enough to run Google earth :rofl: "the one in the living room is".Its mainly just gonna be used to browse the internet,photoshop,Download stuff, & Burn dvd's + i don't do pc gaming.

    i already have "Four sticks of PQI Turbo DDR2 RAM, 512MB per stick" which i bought from a OT'er http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=3539788

    And this dvd drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136117

    So OT what other stuff should i get :wiggle:
     
  2. charger90

    charger90 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28,780
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    San Diego
    no one wants to help? :(
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You really limited yourself on what you can do by buying that memory.

    None of the new Intel stuff will work with that. I found a few older boards on Newegg but the cheapest one was $110 shipped. And the Pentium D's and such are too expensive anyway.

    On the Amd side, you could use this Biostar board with that.
    Biostar K8M800 - $50 shipped
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138038
    It's got onboard video, but I don't know how good it is.

    Unfortunately, you are limited to Sempron procs with that board.
    This is a speedy single core, but it's a single core.
    AMD 2.1ghz Sempron - $50 shipped
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103195
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. charger90

    charger90 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28,780
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    San Diego
    if the ram is the problem i can always sell it and buy other ram..and thanks for your help.whats some ram that would work with all the newer stuff?
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    By far the best bang for the buck that will still work with up to date stuff is DDR2-800.
     
  7. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I missing something Doc?

    If it will run 667 as was stated in the for sale thread then it will handle any Intel processor out right now. there won't be any room for overclocking but I don't see why it wouldn't work on a P35 chipset board.


    I'll agree that if I was buying new memory I would buy DDR2 800 that would run on 1.8v Cas 5 or even better Cas 4. And if not overclocking, the brand isn't all that important as long as you stay with the majors.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The memory in that thread was 533.

    :dunno:
     
  9. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    most DDR2 mobos will run 533 :hsugh:
     
  10. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    Yes, that memory is rated at 533mhz but it will do 667mhz without breaking a sweat. I had it stable at 733mhz.

    What's wrong with this board for his inexpensive build? Onboard video, supports 2gb DDR2, lots of CPU options. :dunno:
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    In theory, all ddr2 boards should be backwards compatible all the way back.

    But try finding a new intel chipset motherboard that will run it.

    If the manufacturer doesn't say it will, then you don't want to try it.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, that would work. I tried finding something like that at Newegg. I must not have used the right search terms.

    :dunno:
     
  13. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    it will almost always work fine, even if it isn't advertised or officially supported

    i have never personally encountered this situation and found it wouldn't work :dunno:
     
  14. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    decent enough board for $50 i suppose
     

Share This Page