looking to reinstall leopard, not sure how to backup first

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, May 25, 2008.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude with an ileostomy bag OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i'm thinking about doing a reinstall of leopard soon. i really don't have any reason to, other than my c2d 2ghz macbook taking close to a minute to boot

    i originally did a an upgrade install.

    i have copies of all my apple programs and documents on my server. my settings within leopard is what might need to be addressed.

    i have superduper, would that save my leopard settings? also, i don't have a firewire drive, only usb
     
  2. inkblot78

    inkblot78 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you talking 100% fresh install (as in reinstalling everything), or a reinstall then copying everything over from a backup using Migration Assistant?
     
  3. tekmode

    tekmode Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    102,748
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    just use time machine, it backs up everything including settings
     
  4. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I've always used Carbon Copy Cloner. It will copy the drive exactly as an identical replica. But with out a firewire drive, it's useless because you could use the firewire drive to boot from, then re-copy it back over to the original. If you've got a Time Machine backup, you can use that as well
     
  5. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    Time Machine or Super Duper
     

Share This Page