SRS moved across the country - feeling it was a mistake

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by unigel, Jul 23, 2009.

1. unigel

unigel New Member

I went to culinary school in NYC and moved to cali after I graduated for a job.

I dont know anyone here and I am feeling REALLY overwhelmed. I am making barely any money (I dont know if Ill be able to survive actually) and I am feeling like maybe this was a big mistake

Im not really sure what to do. everyone says to stick it out for a little while and see how I feel in a month and it will get better, but I just have a feeling in my gut that is wont

I am usually a pessimist, but this is beyond me just being negative. Im not sure if its worth staying here or going home and looking for a job somewhere I have a support system and will be happy.

2. blackbirdbeatle

blackbirdbeatle New Member

I've traveled and moved around a lot and believe me, that feeling of wanting to go back home goes away after a few months. At least you share a similar culture and language. I'd stick it out for another 6 months or so and then move back if you want. You will always have that safety net of friends and family back home to go to.

In the meantime go out and enjoy nature. Find some hills to climb or a beach or something. Volunteer and meet people that way. I don't know what to do about money, as you a chef that works at night or the day mainly?