A&P Need help with a photo setup

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by tenplanescrashing, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,288
    Likes Received:
    1
    I need to put together a photo setup that will be as follows:

    --1 camera permanently mounted and connected to a computer via USB
    --A computer to store and display photos
    --A printer to print 4x6 photos within 20 seconds of sending job

    My process HAS to be like this:

    --Photo is taken via a plunger, or an IR remote (camera not accessible)
    --Photo is sent and stored to computer and immediately displayed on the screen
    --Photo can be printed with a click of a button and sent to printer
    --Previous photos can be viewed with ease and printed as well
    --Photos are stored by day

    Since most of this is software based, that is what I am ultimately looking for. Finding a camera and computer isn't a problem. The closest thing i've found is Nikon Capture but my preference is to have the most recent photo displayed on the screen with thumbnails of previous photos displayed below it (similar to Lightroom) with an easy "click to print" button.

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    building yourself a photo booth eh?
     
  3. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,730
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    hah actually.. I think all you would need for that is a Canon EOS Utility (comes free with an EOS camera) and Picasa2 (free)

    turn on EOS Utility for remote shooting.. you can then shoot from the computer or camera.. and I think also from a wireless remote.

    then set up picasa2 to monitor the folder that you're saving photos to in the EOS utility.. and photos will appear there within seconds of being saved by the EOS Utility. You can set up 1-click print in Picasa.

    I don't know if Lightroom will do that or not.

    I think if you're using a 40D or 1D/s mk III (or maybe the 5D's successor due out any day), you'll even get Liveview in the EOS Utility
     
  4. alexromo

    alexromo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    buy express digital darkroom pro

    tethers and prints, can snap pictures through the computer its connected to, wireless enabled aswell
     
  5. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,852
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    :rofl: exactly what i thought when i read "it HAS to work EXACTLY like this"
     
  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    18,664
    Likes Received:
    484
    aperture has the nicest tethered shooting interface i've seen.
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,288
    Likes Received:
    1
    do you have or know of a tutorial for this? I have aperture at home (v1.1) and didn't see anything for it.
     
  8. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,288
    Likes Received:
    1
    no, but yes. it is a like a studio shoot, but the users aren't photographers so it needs to be easy enough to use with little to no access to screw things up. shoot, print, leave.
     
  9. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,288
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    18,664
    Likes Received:
    484
  11. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,975
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    earth
    I've thought about trying this out and adding it as an "add on" for weddings.... so I'm very interested in what you come up with
     
  12. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here is what i've found so far:

    Lightroom 1.3.1 has an auto import feature where you select a folder to "watch". You then select a folder you want it to save the files to. Kinda redundant, but it is on the right track to what I want.

    I use Nikon Capture Control and "hide" it in the background. Shoot using the camera, have the photos bypass the CF and go straight to the watched folder "Auto Import". It takes a couple seconds between photos for them to display in Lightroom.

    So I have the connection, the control and the viewability (is that a word?). My only gripe now is printing. The print pane at the top of the lightroom window can probably be setup so it is ready to print the same way each time but I don't like the extra step of having to click the Print pane, then Print the photo. Once printed, the user has to click Library again then do the next shoot.

    Im thinking with the lightroom setup, the direct print may not be an option. I could be wrong, unless there is some kind of plug-in out there but since I just reinstalled Lightroom to try this, I don't know of any plug-ins or where to even look.
     
  13. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know if Lightroom allows you to use one monitor for editing and another for full screen view like Aperture does? Ideally, I would like to have an external monitor used for viewing while all of the controls are on the laptop screen.
     
  14. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Pretty sure Lightroom 2.0 does this...
     

Share This Page