Networking Problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Janson, May 3, 2005.

  1. Janson

    Janson I ain't no cum chump. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    136,994
    Likes Received:
    7,189
    Location:
    Davidson, NC
    Alright, some time over the weekend my router has stopped working w/ my modem. If I plug my computer directly into the modem, an linksys, I am able to connect. However, if I run it through the router it won't connect to the internet. any ideas?

    ps: tried two different routers. both linksys
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    first of all, ditch the crapsys... Secondly, reset the modem and reconfigure it.
     
  3. Janson

    Janson I ain't no cum chump. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    136,994
    Likes Received:
    7,189
    Location:
    Davidson, NC
    "reconfigure" the modem?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    router
     
  5. negative zero

    negative zero Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I had a similar issue and got it to work after doing two things.
    1. Flash the firmware of the router.
    2. Unplug both the router and modem for ~10 seconds. pLug modem back in first and let it sync. Plug router back in next. Hook up all cables, etc.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Nothing is wrong with Linksys, so ignore the above comment.

    Definitely check to see if there is a firmware update for the router like said above and try again.

    Is your computer getting an IP when it doesn't want to connect?
     
  7. Janson

    Janson I ain't no cum chump. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    136,994
    Likes Received:
    7,189
    Location:
    Davidson, NC
    Well, I got frustrated as hell today and took my linksys router back and exchanged it for a D link. and it runs perfect on the first try. so now my shit is running. Thank you for trying to help me any way. I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page