SRS New city, no friends, crappy schedule

IslanderOffRoad

Do you even lift kit?
Dec 23, 2003
Houston, Tx
Last month I moved to Dallas from Waco.

I moved to Waco a year and a half prior from Los Angeles to attend grad school. While there, I had no trouble making friends- people I was in class with clicked with me, I met their friends, life was good.

Now, I'm not finding I'm having the same luck here. Part of the issue is my job; I'm a logistics manager for a large retail company, and have to be at work 5 days a week at 3:30am so we can get the truck unloaded by opening. I get home about 2:30 in the afternoon, exhausted as hell. I have to get to bed by 8 in order to make it to work the next day.

Needless to say this has made it difficult to meet people- plus I'm not exactly a pro at meeting new friends in random places like bars and stuff. I tend to feel like I'm being judged for being there alone and that most people won't give a shit who I am if I try to engage.

All my friends back home and in Waco were met through friends of a friend, or through organized activities- school, Boy Scouts, etc.

I've met a few people at work but I get the impression that most people who work for this company don't hang out together. So I'm somewhat afraid to initiate that for fear of violating some sort of unspoken rule and getting in trouble/jeapordizing my career.

I've gotta work every other weekend. The two I've been off thus far I got out of town to see people I know. I have to work this weekend, but I'm off next weekend and I'm making myself stay in Dallas to try and meet some new friends. So what the hell should I be doing to get some friends here. The loneliness is really starting to get to me.

Other info:
Girlfriend of 5 years broke up with me back in May because she wanted me to move back to CA
Have had a fairly fucked up time since then with some female friends, has eroded the crap out of my confidence.

CodeX