poison my local DNS

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lightsareout, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    how can i poison my local DNS, after my router, as a form of payback to my house mates. Say they go to myspace, they get sourpatch...
     
  2. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could use the hosts file.

    c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
     
  3. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    will that just be on one machine or every machine on the router?
     
  4. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    One machine only.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You'd have to create your DNS server and have them route to that for it to work without access to their computers.
     
  6. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    write up?

    i'm currently setting up a server2003 machine if that would be useful
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    install the dns service.... read a book.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    .

    If you have a typical router and typical high speed service (read: not a static IP), you won't be able to set the DNS server to your local computer, it will hand out the DNS server IP address of whatever it gets from the ISP. You'll have to setup DHCP on the server, as well as disable it on the router.
     
  9. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Just change the hosts file on each computer you want affected...simple, elegant
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    simple, yes. elegant, no.
     
  11. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  12. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    0
    there was another solution out there that i wish i could remember. basically, you would put a script on your router that would flip all images as they came in. it was given as a suggestion for dealing with people who kept leeching bandwidth on wireless connections.
     
  13. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    thats what i'm looking for, if you remember what it was called let me know :x:
     
  14. 2113

    2113 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually, you can do most of that with the WW-DRT firmware on certain routers.
     
  16. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,665
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page