ART Question about pricing some wedding photo "accessories"...

NCTRNL

May 10, 2004
Kansas City
I have a bride asking for two things I've never done before so I don't have a lot of experience pricing them.

She wants an album and possibly a "photo booth" at her wedding. The album is basically just a question of how much markup do I build into the price. I know I'll have to design it but I'm not sure how much work actually goes into that.

The photo booth is going to be a backdrop, strobes, a camera on a tripod, and a pocket wizard trigger with a monitor to display images. Not really sure how to price that.

I know this is probably annoying to some of you but I figured I would throw it out there...

TS
TS
NCTRNL

NCTRNL

May 10, 2004
Kansas City
Yeah, I'm not going to be printing them, but I would like to figure out how to display them. That may prove to be more trouble than it's worth though.

I was going to use a PocketWizard as a wireless trigger for the pictures.

Jcolman

OT Supporter
Aug 19, 2002
dirty souf
Albums range in price from a couple hundred bucks to thousands. A good rule of thumb is to mark up the cost of the album by x 3 at a minimum. This covers your costs, design costs and time for you to retouch all the images.

I sell albums by Black River Imaging and my clients love them. I have a lady in MD who designs all my layouts because album design is not my strong suit. I don't make much money on albums but a lot of photographers do.

I will be branching out and offering different choices for albums in the near future and will probably have to mark them up a bit more.

As for a photo booth, I would be very wary of leaving your gear where drunk guests can mess with it. You might want to hire an assistant for $50 to run it for you.

mojito

Mar 8, 2003
have them rent a proper photo booth, saves you the head ache and they get what they want

for albums, you need to know:
who will design it
who will print it
style