TECH School me on properly using Spaces

verbal

Mar 10, 2005
I see a lot of you use it. And I really like the idea of DockSpaces, but I don't know if I'd ever use them.

How do you use spaces? Just seems like an extra pain in the ass to switch spaces when Expose works flawlessly. :dunno:

TS
TS
verbal

verbal

Mar 10, 2005
i really dont find a use for spaces when expose does a baller job letting me know what windows i have open.
That's my point. If I want an app, like iTunes, playing music but I want it out of the way, I'll minimize it. Why put it in a space?

Mutombo

May 31, 2006
San Francisco
I just use two spaces, one for OSX and the other for XP running in VMware fusion. I have fusion setup to automatically open in space #2.

MUDFISH

Jun 22, 2003
Syracuse
I use one for iTunes and all of my phone and torrent stuff, one for the Internet, and one for work. Since I'm a teacher I usually show powerpoints and I really don't want my students to see my iTunes and internet.

Raider007

om nom nom nom
Aug 26, 2002
Bay Area
i assign programs to different space windows...
don't need have to deal with short cuts or anything, just click the program in dock or cmd + tab and it'll switch to the space said program is in...

alverino03

Jul 31, 2001
bay area
I have a 24 inch lcd that I plug into my laptop at work so I don't really have a need for spaces. I tried it for a few days but went back to the conventional "one space."

Raider007

om nom nom nom
Aug 26, 2002
Bay Area
I have a 24 inch lcd that I plug into my laptop at work so I don't really have a need for spaces. I tried it for a few days but went back to the conventional "one space."

at work i have dual screens (dell 24" + 23" ACD) and don't use spaces...
at home on my laptop i use spaces...

urban ape

take that take that take that
Aug 22, 2003
League City, Texas
set up hotkeys to use spaces

i run one space full screen safari
one space full screen mail
one space for itunes and AIM