Setting up WPA security

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Casino, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. Casino

    Casino OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15,738
    Likes Received:
    60
    I have a D-Link DI-524 Wireless Router and I'm trying to set up the WPA-PSK security on it. I called up tech support for help setting it up, but they said they don't support it, even though it is possible to set it up through the set up screen.
    [​IMG]

    All it tells me to type in is the passphrase. How long can it be? Should it be a mix of words and numbers? Is it safer then WEP? I need some help setting it up. ANy help would be appreciated.
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,520
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    The longer the better, you don't need it to be alphanumeric but everything helps, and yes it's more secure, however I found that the connection would hiccup more using it.
     
  3. Casino

    Casino OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15,738
    Likes Received:
    60
    So I can make it as long as I want?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,520
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I'm sure it limits your entries in the box
     
  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,913
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

Share This Page