Upgrading hard drive?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE, Jun 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE

    handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    8,753
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I dont have any experience with hard drives at all. How hard would it be to replace my HD with something much bigger? I've almost filled my 80gb(i think) on my MBP. Also how would I go about setting up bootcamp again if I get a new one?
    any sites that you guys recommend?
     
  2. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  3. handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE

    handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    8,753
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  4. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    rub them together really hard to magnetically transfer the data.
     
  5. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    Diffusion...
     
  6. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I used an external hard drive... If you don't already have one it's worth it to get one and use is as a back-up...
     
  7. Zak8022

    Zak8022 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Probably your best bet. Or use a thumbdrive to xfer it all to another computer, if you have that available.
     
  8. handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE

    handbeezy #FREEHAVSIE OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    8,753
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    yeah i have a large enough external harddrive
    so its just drag the mac hd off of my hard drive onto external(I DONT WANT TO COPY THE PC HALF)
    then from there ill be able to get parallels runnin too huh?
     
  9. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    sounds about right... it's pretty simple...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page