TECH VPS hosting: Verio or Hostgator?

Falconer

Jun 23, 2006
A client is paying $90/mo for Verio hosting.

"Enhanced Plan"
http://www.verio.com/web-hosting/linux-vps/

It looks like you could get the same for less at Hostgator:

http://www.hostgator.com/vps-hosting/

Plus IME Hostgator has better customer service (I waited for 10 minutes with no response at Verio; Hostgator helped me in like 15 seconds).

I have no personal experience with VPS so I defer to TWL's expertise.

Should I have him change over to Hostgator?

Pepsi1975

Mod of the Year
Jan 6, 2005
Detroit
I have set up a vps account with hostgator for a client and liked it

I have been a customer of hostgator for over 3 years and love their customer support

so out of your 2 choices, hostgator wins

TS
TS
Falconer

Falconer

Jun 23, 2006
Yeah I don't know anything about VPS but I know I like Hostgator.

(except for how they structure domains 2 through n that you host, wtf, that's seriously annoying as fuck to the extent that if I had known they did it that way I probably wouldn't have gone with them in the first place... but other than that, I've had no problems with them at all)

TS
TS
Falconer

Falconer

Jun 23, 2006
What you talking about? every host I have used has been the same way

Every host makes all future domains subdomains of the first one you hosted with them?

I host domain1.com with Hostgator. everything is fine. A month later I buy another domain, domain2.com, and host it with Hostgator. Hostgator treats www.domain2.com as domain2.domain1.com.

A few months later I buy another domain, domain3.com. Hostgator treats this domain as domain3.domain1.com.

What does this mean?

1) it means the folders for all my other domains (domain2.com through domainn.com) are stored as subfolders within the folder for domain1.com, which means if I ever get rid of domain1, it's going to be a pain in the butt to handle the rest of my domains at Hostgator since their root folder no longer exists.